some pixel
First Student Employees Recognized by NSTA at Annual Meeting and Convention in Tulsa
| Contact us

First Student Employees Recognized by NSTA at Annual Meeting and Convention in Tulsa

July 26, 2013

CINCINNATI— First Student employees received high honors at the National School Transportation Association’s (NSTA) Annual Awards Program held at the organization’s 2013 meeting and convention in Tulsa on July 23. Todd Monteferrario, senior director; Frank Luciano, senior vice president; Susan Moorehead, area general manager; and Ford Thompson, driver; were honored with four of NSTA’s top awards for their contributions to the student transportation industry and the communities they serve.

“This is a tremendous recognition for Todd, Frank, Susan and Ford,” said Linda Burtwistle, President of First Student. “We are proud they received recognition for their hard work and for giving so much back to their communities.”

Todd Monteferrario received the prestigious Distinguished Service Award which recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the school bus contracting industry. Monteferrario has been with First Student since 2002 when the company acquired Bergen-Passaic Transportation Service. Monteferrario currently serves on the NSTA Board of Directors, and the Executive Committee. He spent nearly 15 years on the New Jersey Bus Safety Committee, and is a former board member of the New Jersey School Bus Owners Association.  

Frank Luciano and Susan Moorehead received Golden Merit Awards for their commitment to excellence in service, safety and their community. Luciano serves as the senior vice president of the Northeast region.

During his 10 years at First Student, Luciano has taken the lead on developing and implementing several company programs, includingdriver safety training. He is involved with the New York State Contractors Association and the New York Association for Pupil Transportation. Moorehead began her school transportation career nearly 40 years ago and since that time has transitioned from instructor to area general manager for Northern California. Moorehead serves as the President of the California Association of School Transportation Officials Chapter 7, which furthers her efforts to promote safe transportation through education and training.

Ford Thompson received the Outstanding Driver Service Award for his service to First Student, as well as to his community. He requested to work special needs routes in the Minnetonka Public School District in Minnesota where he has forged a meaningful relationship with students and parents. Last year, the district recognized Thompson with its Charlie Parnell Memorial Award. The award honors a school professional who goes above and beyond the call of duty to touch the lives of students with special needs. The honor is usually awarded to teachers.