some pixel
Superintendent of the Year Spotlight: Alabama
| Contact us

Superintendent of the Year Spotlight: Alabama

Alabama 2021 Superintendent of the Year

Chresal Threadgill

Mobile County Public Schools

Chresal Threadgill

Chresal Threadgill is a native of Mobile, AL, and is a graduate of John L. Leflore High School and attended Alabama State University where he received a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership. Greenville Middle School in Butler County is where Chresal started his educational career where he served as a middle school P.E. Teacher and Coach. After two years, the administration encouraged him to become a part of the administrative team and Chresal became the Vice-Principal. Mr. Threadgill moved to Troy Alabama, where he worked as Assistant Principal of Charles Henderson Middle School and then became Principal. From there, Mr. Threadgill moved to the district office to serve as Assistant Superintendent. Mr. Threadgill moved on to be the Superintendent of Elba City Schools for five years and then returned home as the Chief of Staff for Mobile County Public Schools, where he worked with the Superintendent. In 2018, Mr. Threadgill was appointed superintendent of Mobile County Public School System, currently the largest school system in the state of Alabama.

About the Superintendent of the Year Spotlight:

As a sponsor of the Superintendent of the Year program, First Student wants to recognize these leaders in a special way this year, because of the Covid-19 pandemic and the disruption that has affected all education systems but also the innovative approaches that the Superintendents and school districts addressed through radio, television, zoom and take-home packages. These Superintendents are the very best in public  education and are needed more than ever during this crisis.

About the Award:

The Superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by First Student and AASA, The School Superintendents Association, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.

State level winners are selected on the following criteria:

  • Leadership for Learning
  • Communication
  • Professionalism
  • Community Involvement