some pixel
Trent North
| Contact us
All Superintendents

Trent North

Superintendent Trent North began his tenure with the Douglas County School System in 2017. As leader of the state’s 17th-largest school district, he oversees 35 schools, 3,400 employees and nearly 26,000 students. Throughout his 31 years in education, he has maintained an unwavering commitment to seeing every student excel.

Mr. North has expertise in learning, teaching, and administration at all levels of public education. His influence on educational policies extends throughout Georgia. He is a member of several state committees, including Governor Kemp’s advisory committee on education. In 2021, the Georgia Association of Educational Leaders presented Mr. North with its Vision Award for his leadership in the state.

Mr. North has been recognized for his devotion to education by the NAACP, the Douglas County Chamber of Commerce, the Carroll County Times-Georgian and other influential civic and professional organizations. He is a former board member for the University of West Georgia and Tanner Hospital. Mr. North is currently a member of the Douglas County Rotary Club, Douglas County Chamber’s Board of Directors and a 2018 Leadership Douglas graduate. He also serves on the boards for Live Healthy Douglas, Cobb and Douglas Public Health, Douglas County Community Services Board, Douglas County Kiwanis Club, and the Douglas County Education Collaborative.

During his 25 years as a Carroll County Board of Commissioners, Mr. North spearheaded many projects that created new construction and generated endless economic opportunities for the area.

Mr. North attended the University of West Georgia for undergraduate and graduate studies. He and his wife Toya are the proud parents of two daughters, Alecia and Alexis.

Past AASA Georgia Superintendent of the Year Winners:

2022 Georgia Superintendent of the Year: Noris Price

2021 Georgia Superintendent of the Year: Michael Duncan

2020 Georgia Superintendent of the Year: Samantha Fuhrey

About the Award:

The Superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by First Student and AASA, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.

State-level winners are selected on the following criteria:

    • Leadership for Learning
    • Communication
    • Professionalism
    • Community Involvement

US Corporate Headquarters
191 Rosa Parks Street, 8th Floor,
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Contact Us