some pixel
Dr. Sarah Koligian
| Contact us
All Superintendents

Dr. Sarah Koligian

Dr. Sarah Koligian has spent over 34 years in public education and started her tenure as Superintendent of Folsom Cordova Unified School District in July 2017.

Before joining Folsom Cordova, Dr. Koligian was superintendent of Tulare Joint Union High School District, where she led award-winning efforts to create personalized pathways for students in healthcare, engineering, art, and agriculture. Prior to that, Dr. Koligian served as superintendent of Golden Valley Unified School District in Madera County. She began her teaching career as a Resource Teacher at Madison Elementary School in Fresno’s Central Unified School District and held several administrative positions over the twenty years spent there.

Dr. Koligian has been a member of ACSA (Association of California School Administrators) for over 20 years, completed the ACSA Superintendent’s Academy in 2004, and has served on several ACSA statewide committees. She currently serves on the Board of Directors to the Folsom Tourism and Economic Development Board and is a member of the City of Rancho Cordova Community Council.

Past AASA California Superintendent of the Year Winners:

2021 California Superintendent of the Year: Craig Helmstedter

2020 California Superintendent of the Year: David Hansen

About the Superintendent of the Year:

As a sponsor of the superintendent of the Year program, First Student wants to recognize these leaders in a special way this year, because of the Covid-19 pandemic and the disruption that has affected all education systems but also the innovative approaches that the superintendents and school districts addressed through radio, television, zoom and take-home packages. These superintendents are the very best in public  education and are needed more than ever during this crisis.

About the Award:

The superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by First Student and AASA, The School superintendents Association, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.

State level winners are selected on the following criteria:

  • Leadership for Learning
  • Communication
  • Professionalism
  • Community Involvement

US Corporate Headquarters
191 Rosa Parks Street, 8th Floor,
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Contact Us