some pixel
Marilyn Hissong
| Contact us
All Superintendents

Marilyn Hissong

In July of 2023, Marilyn Hissong celebrated her 30th year working in the field of education, all of it in East Allen County Schools (EACS), based in New Haven, Indiana. After earning her Bachelor of Science degree from Ball State University in 1992, Hissong began her career as a teacher and volleyball coach in EACS. She has served as a principal in three different buildings, director of curriculum for the district, assistant superintendent for four years, and she has been the district’s superintendent since July 2017.

She and her husband both graduated from Woodlan High School in EACS, and their two children graduated from Leo High School in the district. During her entire education career, Hissong has served, lived, or worked in each corner of the district, which covers 344 square miles.

She received a Master of Science degree from Indiana-Purdue University in 1998 and an Ed.S. degree from Ball State University in 2002.

By January of 2010, she had studied curriculum and instruction under Grant Wiggins and Timothy McTighe. Thus began the adventure of EACS writing its own unique elementary curriculum created by EACS teachers. Hissong chose two teachers for each grade level K through 8. She selected people from the district’s five attendance areas so all of the diverse student populations would be represented.

The curriculum contained the elements of “Backwards by Design by Wiggins and McTighe. The greatest success of the district’s curriculum was going from a “D” district in 2010 to an “A” district in 2015.

Hissong also participated in creating curriculum for the district’s new early college high school, which opened in 2012.

Hissong is proud of EACS having the lowest tax rate of all school districts in the county, and she is honored and humbled to be selected by her colleagues as Indiana’s Superintendent of the Year for 2024.

Past AASA Indiana Superintendent of the Year Winners:

2023 Indiana Superintendent of the Year: Wayne Barker

2022 Indiana Superintendent of the Year: David Clendening

2021 Indiana Superintendent of the Year: Kent Deckoninck

About the Award:

The Superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by First Student and AASA, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.

State-level winners are selected on the following criteria:

    • Leadership for Learning
    • Communication
    • Professionalism
    • Community Involvement

US Corporate Headquarters
191 Rosa Parks Street, 8th Floor,
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Contact Us