some pixel
J.R. Green
| Contact us
All Superintendents

J.R. Green

A native South Carolinian, Dr. J.R. Green has served the students of South Carolina in the capacity of teacher, assistant principal, principal, assistant superintendent, and superintendent for 25 years. For the past eight years he has served as the superintendent of schools for the Fairfield County School District. The district began the construction of a state-of-the-art career and technology center that includes programs such as engineering, barbering, nursing, auto collision, and more soon after Dr. Green’s arrival at Fairfield County.

Dr. Green launched the STEM Early College Academy initiative. This was a partnership with Midlands Technical College which provided Fairfield County students the opportunity to graduate high school with an Associate’s Degree in Science. One of the proudest moments of Dr. Green’s tenure is the recognition of Fairfield Central High teacher, Ms. Chanda Jefferson, as the 2020 South Carolina State Teacher of the Year. Ms. Jefferson’s recognition is the first time the district has had a State Teacher of the Year.

Past AASA South Carolina Superintendent of the Year Winners:

2020 South Carolina Superintendent of the Year: Joanne Avery 

2019 South Carolina Superintendent of the Year: Harrison Goodwin

About the Superintendent of the Year:

As a sponsor of the superintendent of the Year program, First Student wants to recognize these leaders in a special way this year, because of the Covid-19 pandemic and the disruption that has affected all education systems but also the innovative approaches that the superintendents and school districts addressed through radio, television, zoom and take-home packages. These superintendents are the very best in public  education and are needed more than ever during this crisis.

About the Award:

The superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by First Student and AASA, The School superintendents Association, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.

State level winners are selected on the following criteria:

  • Leadership for Learning
  • Communication
  • Professionalism
  • Community Involvement

US Corporate Headquarters
191 Rosa Parks Street, 8th Floor,
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Contact Us