some pixel
Dr. Steve Willard
| Contact us
All Superintendents

Dr. Steve Willard

Grew up on a dairy farm in Northeastern South Dakota between Milbank and Watertown.
Graduated from Grant/Deuel high school in Revillo South Dakota (1975)
Bachelors of Science degree in Industrial arts from Northern State University (1980)
(Machinist for 3 years at Safeguard industries while going to college)
Taught machine shop at Hub Area Votech (1 year)
Taught Industrial Arts at Jones County High School in Murdo South Dakota (19 years)
Earned a Master’s degree from SDSU in Education Administration while teaching Murdo.
High School Principal in Belle Fourche from 2000-2008
Earned a Doctorate degree from USD in School Administration while principal in Belle Fourche.
Superintendent of Schools from 2008 until present.
Married for 43 years to Mary Lou we have 6 children and 15 grandchildren
Workforce development- What is Belle Fourche School District doing to help grow a local workforce?
New CTE building- Welding, Ag/FFA, Accounting, & FACS/FCCLA
(In the near future, we are looking a 12-month Greenhouse with hydroponics and a fish farm)
Dual Credit- $145 for 3-credit class (See letter) currently have Sociology and Psychology as dual credit opportunities. Springs semester adding welding and carpentry. In the future, we are looking at accounting and drafting.
K-12 CTE curriculum (k-4 discovery, 5-8 Exploration, 9-12 interning & practical application.
Partnership with WDT- student tours, dual credit, cooperation with carpentry house (Wiring, HVAC system)
Carpentry house- partnerships with City of Belle Fourche, West River Foundation, WDT, Belle Fourche Development Corp, and Belle Fourche School District to build school-built-homes.

Past AASA South Dakota Superintendent of the Year Winners:

2021 South Dakota Superintendent of the Year: Terry Nebelsick

2020 South Dakota Superintendent of the Year: Joel Jorgenson

About the Award:

The Superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by First Student and AASA, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.

State-level winners are selected on the following criteria:

    • Leadership for Learning
    • Communication
    • Professionalism
    • Community Involvement

US Corporate Headquarters
191 Rosa Parks Street, 8th Floor,
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Contact Us