some pixel
Dr. Michelle Hubbard
| Contact us
All Superintendents

Dr. Michelle Hubbard

Dr. Michelle Hubbard is the superintendent in the Shawnee Mission School District (SMSD). Shawnee Mission serves 14 cities in Johnson County, Kansas, and a diverse population of more than 25,000 students. Prior to assuming this role, she served as the associate superintendent for leadership and learning and deputy superintendent for a combined six years in the SMSD.

Prior to coming to Shawnee Mission, Dr. Hubbard was superintendent in the neighboring Turner School District, a position she held for seven years. She also served as an assistant superintendent, elementary and high school principal, and assistant high school principal, a special education teacher and a special education paraprofessional. She began her career as a behavior disorder teacher in Duncan, Oklahoma.

Dr. Hubbard brings strong communication skills to her leadership roles, enabling her to establish trusting relationships with staff, students, parents, colleagues, district-level administrators and boards of education. Her work has been in communities with significant numbers of both high-performing and at-risk students, including students living in households where English is not the primary language. She has specific expertise in strategic planning, effective leadership, setting high expectations, technology integration, and striving for excellence. She has served as a mentor for numerous aspiring and current principals and superintendents.

Dr. Hubbard earned a Bachelor of Science degree in education specializing in behavior disorders from the University of Central Oklahoma, a Master of Science degree in special education specializing in learning disabilities from the University of Kansas, and a Doctorate in Educational Leadership from Baker University.

Past AASA Kansas Superintendent of the Year Winners:

2023 Kansas Superintendent of the Year: Dr. Michael Argabright

2021 Kansas Superintendent of the Year: Justin Henry

About the Award:

The Superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by First Student and AASA, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.

State-level winners are selected on the following criteria:

    • Leadership for Learning
    • Communication
    • Professionalism
    • Community Involvement

US Corporate Headquarters
191 Rosa Parks Street, 8th Floor,
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Contact Us