some pixel
Dr. Bobby Ott
| Contact us
All Superintendents

Dr. Bobby Ott

Dr. Bobby Ott received his Doctorate in Educational Administration from the University of Texas at Austin. Prior to his nomination into the Superintendency Fellowship, he was a Middle School Principal in Anson, Texas. During his tenure as principal, Anson Middle School acquired Recognized Ratings, and in the final year was awarded an Exemplary Rating.

Throughout the pursuit of his doctoral degree he worked in the Division of Curriculum and Professional Development and the Office of Statewide Initiatives at the Texas Education Agency. He also served as the Director of the Institute for Public Schools Initiative with the University of Texas System. For thirteen years he served in the roles of Deputy Superintendent of Copperas Cove ISD, Deputy Superintendent of Killeen ISD and Assistant Superintendent of Temple ISD. All three districts obtained a “Recognized” or “Met Standard” status during each year of service. Notable successes included designing elementary school academies, deploying Blended Learning Initiatives, opening new schools and implementing innovative programming with local businesses in career and technical education. Dr. Ott has served as the Superintendent of Schools for Temple ISD since 2018. TISD has earned statewide recognitions in the areas of academic/technology innovation, financial solvency, student programming, staff retention efforts and business partnerships. Further, TISD currently has a Superior Financial Rating and a “B” Academic Rating, with every campus meeting state standard.

Dr. Ott was recently named the 2022 Texas Superintendent of the Year by TASB. He has served as a lead member for curriculum and policy efforts for the Texas School Alliance and received a Governor appointment in 2009 to serve on the State Advisory Council for Early Childhood. He was also appointed to the Urban Superintendents Association of America to collaborate with innovative urban leaders from across the country. He is currently a state-level member of the Texas Association of School Administrators State Executive Committee, Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) and the TASA 2025 Leadership Task Force. Locally he serves as a board member for the Temple Economic Corporation, Central Texas Workforce, Temple Education Foundation, Children McLane’s Hospital and Temple Chamber of Commerce. He is also a member of the Temple Chapter NAACP, Temple South Rotary Club and Temple Business League. He is most proud serving as a Temple Wildcat Mentor.

Past AASA Texas Superintendent of the Year Winners:

2021 Texas Superintendent of the Year: J.A. Gonzalez

2020 Texas Superintendent of the Year: Keith Bryant 

About the Award:

The Superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by First Student and AASA, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.

State-level winners are selected on the following criteria:

    • Leadership for Learning
    • Communication
    • Professionalism
    • Community Involvement

US Corporate Headquarters
191 Rosa Parks Street, 8th Floor,
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Contact Us