some pixel
Dr. Andrew Rikli
| Contact us
All Superintendents

Dr. Andrew Rikli

Dr. Andrew Rikli has served as the Superintendent of the Papillion La Vista Community Schools since July 2013. Prior to his work in Papillion La Vista, Dr. Rikli worked 10 years with the Westside Community Schools in Omaha as an elementary principal, central office director, and assistant superintendent. Rikli previously worked as a consultant with the Nebraska Department of Education and has served as a classroom teacher, coach, activities director, and curriculum and assessment writer. In addition to his work with PK-12 public schools, Dr. Rikli is an adjunct professor at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, serves on the Educators Health Alliance (EHA) Board of Directors, and was appointed by Governors Heineman and Ricketts to the Nebraska Professional Practices Commission.

Rikli is a member of the American Association of School Administrators, ASCD, PDK International, the Horace Mann League, and the Beta Theta Pi alumni association. Rikli is the past Chairman of the Board for the University of Nebraska-Omaha Alumni Association, a current member of the United Way of the Midlands Board of Directors, the CHI Midlands Hospital Board of Directors, the PLCS Teammates Mentoring Board of Directors, and the Concord Mediation Center Board of Directors. Rikli is also a member of the College Possible Advisory Board and a member of the Offutt Advisory Council where he serves as the honorary commander of the 338th Combat Training Squadron. Dr. Rikli is a graduate of Leadership Sarpy, Leadership Omaha, the Midlands Superintendent Academy, and a member of the Papillion Area Lions’ Club. Dr. Rikli is also a member of the Urban School Superintendents Association of America (USAA), the Educational Research and Development Institute (ERDI), and Omaha Zoological Society Advisory Council. Andy was named a PDK Emerging Leader, UNO Hollie Bethel Distinguished Alumni Award winner, UNO Outstanding Service Award winner, CHI “Friend of Midlands” community leader award, the Nebraska School Mental Health Champion, and the Sarpy County Master of Leadership Award. Dr. Rikli was named the Nebraska State Superintendent of the Year in 2023.

Dr. Rikli holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and completed his doctorate in Educational Administration and Supervision from the University of Nebraska-Omaha. Andy is a fourth-generation Nebraskan who graduated from Auburn High School in Auburn, Nebraska. Dr. Rikli resides in Papillion with his three children, Adrianna, Meredith, and Sam. They are members of Calvary Shadow Lake Church.

Past AASA Nebraska Superintendent of the Year Winners:

2023 Nebraska Superintendent of the Year: Mark Lenihan

2022 Nebraska Superintendent of the Year: Terry Haack

2021 Nebraska Superintendent of the Year: James Sutfin

About the Award:

The Superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by First Student and AASA, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.

State-level winners are selected on the following criteria:

    • Leadership for Learning
    • Communication
    • Professionalism
    • Community Involvement

US Corporate Headquarters
191 Rosa Parks Street, 8th Floor,
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Contact Us