some pixel
Dennis Roch
| Contact us
All Superintendents

Dennis Roch

Mr. Dennis Roch spent much of his childhood in Clovis, NM, growing up the son of an Air Force officer stationed at Cannon AFB. In 1995, he received a teaching degree from Eastern New Mexico University in Portales, NM, and then continued his studies in the Washington, DC, area– earning his master’s degree while working for US Senator Pete Domenici on Capitol Hill.

Beginning in 1999, he served as a teacher, coach, athletic director, principal, and assistant superintendent in several eastern NM districts. In 2013, he accepted the position of Superintendent of the Logan (NM) Municipal Schools and continues in that position today.

Dennis ran for office in 2004, and he was elected that year to a 4-year term on the Public Education Commission. Then, in 2008, he was elected as State Representative for District 67 in northeastern New Mexico and served 10 years as a legislator. Since retiring from the legislature, Dennis has been active in the NM School Superintendents Association and served as the association’s president during the 2020-2021 school year.

Past AASA New Mexico Superintendent of the Year Winners:

2021 New Mexico Superintendent of the Year: Kim Mizell

2020 New Mexico Superintendent of the Year: Travis Dempsey

About the Superintendent of the Year:

As a sponsor of the superintendent of the Year program, First Student wants to recognize these leaders in a special way this year, because of the Covid-19 pandemic and the disruption that has affected all education systems but also the innovative approaches that the superintendents and school districts addressed through radio, television, zoom and take-home packages. These superintendents are the very best in public  education and are needed more than ever during this crisis.

About the Award:

The superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by First Student and AASA, The School superintendents Association, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.

State level winners are selected on the following criteria:

  • Leadership for Learning
  • Communication
  • Professionalism
  • Community Involvement

US Corporate Headquarters
191 Rosa Parks Street, 8th Floor,
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Contact Us