some pixel
Cheryl Jordan
| Contact us
All Superintendents

Cheryl Jordan

Entering her 34th year with the Milpitas Unified School District, Superintendent Cheryl Jordan champions a Culture of WE approach aiming to leave a profound impact on All Learners – those who are students, parents/caregivers, MUSD team or community members = ALL. A forward-thinking leader and American Leadership Forum Fellow, she holds positions including Association of California School Administrators Accountability TaskForce, Chair of ACSA Legislative Policy Committee, Past Presidents of Santa Clara County Superintendents Association and the Milpitas Rotary, past treasurer of the Milpitas Kiwanis, SJSU Lurie College of Education Advisory Board, Santa Clara County Construction Careers Association Board, and World House Global Network.

Current projects involve building and launching the MUSD Innovation Campus, a collaborative effort through business-school-community-governance partnerships to benefit middle school through adult learners. Jordan and team have launched the MUSD Middle College High School, Randall World Languages School, MUSD EducatEveryWhere online learning, and high school-college dual enrollment, as well as partnerships with San Jose Evergreen Community College District to provide learners with personalized pathways such as certification in computer sciences and advanced manufacturing. Her education journey as a middle and alternative high school educator advanced to district leadership roles allowing Jordan to draw from these experiences in relating to her colleagues and moving MUSD forward as a trailblazer. Jordan’s personal development continues with a lens on equity, inclusion, diversity, and belonging — building a Culture of We.

Past AASA California Superintendent of the Year Winners:

2023 California Superintendent of the Year: Ted Alejandre

2022 California Superintendent of the Year: Dr. Sarah Koligian

2021 California Superintendent of the Year: Craig Helmstedter 

About the Award:

The Superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by First Student and AASA, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.

State-level winners are selected on the following criteria:

    • Leadership for Learning
    • Communication
    • Professionalism
    • Community Involvement

US Corporate Headquarters
191 Rosa Parks Street, 8th Floor,
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Contact Us